Anton von Webern Malcolm Hayes

Price AUD$19.95 Price CAD$16.95 Price €12.95 Price £9.95 Price T14.95 Price USD$14.95

Gift options available at checkout

Anton von Webern (1883-1945) was born into the aristocratic, musical heritage of Vienna. An early passion for Renaissance vocal music haunts his compositions, but as a result of his studies with Arnold Schoenberg he became a disciple of the 12-note technique which he used to create a sound that came to characterize his style. Tragically killed during the Allied occupation of Austria, he remains a profound influence on musicians of subsequent generations. Specifications:

  • Format: Paperback
  • Size: 220 x 156 mm (8 5/8 x 6 1/8 in)
  • Pages: 240 pp
  • ISBN: 9780714831572

Malcolm Hayes is a music journalist and specialist on the music of Webern and Schoenberg. He has written extensively for The Times and Daily Telegraph.

"Provides a vital point of access to those seeking a deeper understanding or enjoyment of his music."—Gramophone

On the 20th Century Composers Series

"As a series, Phaidon's 20th Century Composers has brought remarkable variety and a welter of information, both necessary and delightfully trivial. Intended both for the general reader and for the more enthusiastically musical."—The Scotsman

You may also like these books