Jean Sibelius

Examines the life and work of the enigmatic Finnish composer.

Guy Rickards


Price: USD$14.95

Jean Sibelius (1865–1957) is one of the most popular and prominent composers to have emerged from Northern Europe. In his native Finland he achieved monumental status, and his orchestral works are staples of the repertoire. For so public a figure, however, much of his life has been shrouded in mystery, particularly the compositional silence of his last three decades. This study shows that Sibelius was plagued by nerves and self-doubt, frequently seeking refuge in alcohol, and that the long creative silence was in reality bound up with the composition of an eighth symphony which he was ultimately to destroy. This is the first single-volume biography on Sibelius in English to be published in nearly a decade, and it includes much new material not previously available.


Format: Paperback
Size: 220 x 156 mm (8 5/8 x 6 1/8 in)
Pages: 240 pp
Illustrations: 80 illustrations
ISBN: 9780714847764

Guy Rickards is a freelance writer on music, and author of Hindemith, Hartmann and Henze in the 20th-Century Composers series.

On the 20th Century Composers Series

"As a series, Phaidon's 20th Century Composers has brought remarkable variety and a welter of information, both necessary and delightfully trivial. Intended both for the general reader and for the more enthusiastically musical."—The Scotsman

Anton von Webern
A Polish Renaissance
Béla Bartók
Arnold Schoenberg


Phaidon is the premier global publisher of the creative arts with over 1,500 titles in print. We work with the world's most influential artists, chefs, writers and thinkers to produce innovative books on art, photography, design, architecture, fashion, food and travel, and illustrated books for children. Phaidon is headquartered in London and New York City.
Read more