9780714875316-ph-940-1
9780714875316-ph-940-2
9780714875316-ph-940-3
9780714875316-ph-940-4
9780714875316-ph-940-5

Something's Fishy


This ice fishing mystery features a grumpy penguin, a troupe of curious onlookers, and a surprise ending!


Jean Gourounas


Editions:

Price: USD$16.95

This ice fishing mystery features a grumpy penguin, a troupe of curious onlookers, and a surprise ending!

An ice fishing penguin grows increasingly aggravated as his line fails to attract fish, but his activity attracts a cast of curiously chatty polar characters. Hilariously expressive animals and their repetitive questions dramatically accumulate until finally, in the climactic finale, the penguin hears something under the water, and everyone silences for the big reveal. A fast-paced and entertaining read-aloud that provides ample opportunity for character voices and multiple punchlines. Children will wager predictions throughout, and crack up at the clever and comical ending!



SPECIFICATIONS:

Format: Hardback
Size: 250 x 195 mm (9 7/8 x 7 5/8 in)
Pages: 40 pp
Illustrations: 36 illustrations
ISBN: 9780714875316

Jean Gourounas is a French author-illustrator based in Saint-Etienne, France. He studied graphic design and worked as a graphic designer after university. He has written and illustrated over 15 children's books in France, but this is his first book in English.

"An ice-fishing penguin gets grumpy when he fails to catch anything. I love the stylish graphics and deadpan humour, with echoes of Jon Klassen."—The Bookseller

"A fast-paced and entertaining read-aloud that provides ample opportunity for character voices and multiple punchlines. Children will wager predictions throughout, and crack up at the clever and comical ending!"—PrimaryTimes.net

"Will have children giggling and guessing throughout this perfect snowy story of Christmas-time"—Early Years Childcare Magazine

"French author/illustrator Jean Gourounas' clever picture book has a droll sense of humour and a surprise ending... Perfect for reading aloud... but increasing vocabulary will be an added bonus... A delightfully engaging story that is sure to become a firm favourite with young children and adults."—OutsideInWorld.org

"When it comes to books for young children I do like a simple catchy story that is fast paced with just a sentence or two a page and well illustrated. I'm delighted to say that the latest book I have to share from Phaidon Books does all of these things. Come and meet the Penguin and his friends on a fishing adventure in Something's Fishy... This snowy tale will be perfect for Christmas and last well beyond as the story lends itself to the repetition and retelling that appeals to kids."—CoombeMill.com

"This sly puzzle of a story by Jean Gourounas will delight readers and keep them guessing until the very end... Kids will giggle as the same questions and answers are asked over and over again in various ways, and don't be surprised when your little one adds the words "baffled", "perplexed", and "flummoxed" to their growing vocabulary."—Celebrate Pictures Books

"Fans of Jon Agee, Mac Barnett, and Jon Klassen will appreciate the wry, deadpan humor of both the playful story and the clever, distinctive illustrations. This is pure graphic and narrative genius."—School LIbrary Journal

"An ice-fishing penguin gets grumpy when he fails to catch anything. I love the stylish graphics and deadpan humour, with echoes of Jon Klassen."—The Bookseller

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE
Toto's Apple
Harold's Hungry Eyes
Jonathan and Martha
Undercover
Animals Are Delicious

ABOUT PHAIDON

Phaidon is the premier global publisher of the creative arts with over 1,500 titles in print. We work with the world's most influential artists, chefs, writers and thinkers to produce innovative books on art, photography, design, architecture, fashion, food and travel, and illustrated books for children. Phaidon is headquartered in London and New York City.
Read more