On and By Frank Lloyd Wright

A Primer of Architectural Principles

This volume brings together the most important essays on and by Frank Lloyd Wright, described by the American Institute of Architects as ‘the greatest American architect of all time.’

Edited by Robert McCarter


Price: USD$29.95

This volume brings together the most important essays on and by Wright, providing both an illuminating study of one of the key figures of the 20th century, as well as an overview of the very principles that are at the foundation of great architecture.

The editor of this volume, Robert McCarter, poured through all of the important scholarly work on the subject of Frank Lloyd Wright to select the highlights in research and reading. Each essay is illustrated with archival material.

On and By Frank Lloyd Wright contains fourteen analytical essays that use Wright’s buildings as a means to understanding his complex creative process.

On and by Frank Lloyd Wright provides a unique and informed look at Wright’s buildings from inception to completion, from his earliest works to his final masterpieces.

With over four hundred images, including photographs, archival material, and diagrammatic analyses, this book provides a more complete understanding of Wright’s work than previous studies.


Format: Paperback
Size: 245 x 172 mm (9 5/8 x 6 3/4 in)
Pages: 372 pp
Illustrations: 350 illustrations
ISBN: 9780714863160

Robert McCarter is a practicing architect and has been Ruth and Norman Moore Professor of Architecture at Washington University in St. Louis since 2007. He taught previously at the University of Florida, where he was Director of the School of Architecture from 1991–2001, and Columbia University, among other schools. He has written for numerous international publications, and his books include: Carlo Scarpa (2013); Understanding Architecture, co-authored with Juhani Pallasmaa (2012); Louis I Kahn (2005); On and By Frank Lloyd Wright: A Primer of Architectural Principles (2005); Frank Lloyd Wright (1997); Unity Temple (1997); and Fallingwater (1994), all by Phaidon Press. He has also published Wiel Arets: Autobiographical References (2012); Frank Lloyd Wright: Critical Lives (2006); and William Morgan: Selected and Current Work (2002), among other books.

Frank Lloyd Wright
Louis I Kahn
Le Corbusier Le Grand
Sacred Spaces
Understanding Architecture