Frank Lloyd Wright

The definitive monograph on one of the masters of modern architecture.

Robert McCarter


Price: USD$49.95

Look Inside


About the book

Frank Lloyd Wright is one of the great masters of modern architecture. His career spanned over 60 years, and his unique stylistic invention kept ahead of any ephemeral fashion. This definitive monograph provides an unparalleled account of Wright's momentous career. It explores the key themes in Wright's work, and presents the consistent qualities that underlie all of his designs.

The themes of space and spatial experience are examined, together with a discussion of construction and Wright's search for what he termed the nature of materials. The relationship between his architecture and the landscape is also explored with rigour.

This book includes an extensive selection of archival drawings and photographs; clear, redrawn plans and detail drawings; and beautiful specially-commissioned, colour photographs. It also features a complete list of Wright's buildings and projects compiled by the Frank Lloyd Wright Archives.

In The Press

'One of the handsomest books yet on America's architect of the century.' (The Sunday Times)

'Robert McCarter's volume is a masterly achievement.' (Times Literary Supplement)

'As a presentation of Wright's complete career, it is difficult to imagine McCarter's book being bettered.' (Architects Journal)

'Of all the books that have appeared in the last 10 years on Frank Lloyd Wright and his architecture, this is one that will last. Robert McCarter's prose is agile and passionate.' (

'A sumptuous and revealing book ... an intensely human and at times poetically interpreted description of Wright's work and life.' (World Architecture)

About the author(s)
Robert McCarter is a practicing architect and has been Ruth and Norman Moore Professor of Architecture at Washington University in St. Louis since 2007. He taught previously at the University of Florida, where he was Director of the School of Architecture from 1991–2001, and Columbia University, among other schools. He has written for numerous international publications, and his books include: Carlo Scarpa (2013); Understanding Architecture, co-authored with Juhani Pallasmaa (2012); Louis I Kahn (2005); On and By Frank Lloyd Wright: A Primer of Architectural Principles (2005); Frank Lloyd Wright (1997); Unity Temple (1997); and Fallingwater (1994), all by Phaidon Press. He has also published Wiel Arets: Autobiographical References (2012); Frank Lloyd Wright: Critical Lives (2006); and William Morgan: Selected and Current Work (2002), among other books.

Le Corbusier Le Grand
On and By Frank Lloyd Wright